Baby Nursery

6 Feb

As you may know we are expecting our second baby in late May – our second baby boy! So along with planning all the other rooms I’ve been searching for inspiration for a modern nursery. This is the first time we will be able to paint and create the room exactly as we wanted, as previously we’ve been renting and had to consider carefully what to put on the walls etc. So I am ready to go for it and I have free rein on design!!

I stumbled across project nursery and its an incredible website filled with tons of real life babies & kids rooms to view and draw inspiration from.  I’d decided I wanted to go with a duck egg blue, orange and maybe another accent color (grey?) for this room  and I just love what these parents have done with their rooms – defo a good chance I’ll be stealing some ideas from here!

Modern duck egg blue & orange Nursery

I love the Zebra rug in this room – so unexpected and makes a great alternative to the soothing blue walls. Plus the pops of orange are a great brightener for the room.

Soothing grey nursery with birch trees

This is a very calm room – with the little hints of orange.  I love the wall decals but it might be a little too tame for me.

This next room is super bold – but I’m digging the stripes on the ceiling idea. It adds a visual element to the room for the baby but I can’t see myself convincing Jon to get the paint out and paint stripes on the ceiling yet! And I’m worried that this look could date pretty quickly.

Bold stripe ceiling

Yellow and blue nursery

These colors  on the second image might be a bit muted for me but I like the inclusion of the warm grey and turquoise blue.

This next one is just pure fun – I love how bright and bold it is. And the green Eames Rocker is to die for! One of these in orange or blue with a mini sheepskin rug thrown over it might have to go on my list of things to buy.

Go bold with this bright & colorful nursery scheme

Calm grey tone nursery with a chic rug.

I love the grey rug in this final room – its a tad girly for my new lil man’s room but I’ve seen some other versions that could work. Overall the room feels very warm and inviting  and practical too!

Lots of ideas here – but it will be a while before I can even get to this decorating stage. Still its good to think about the room layout, the colors and what I want in there, what we already have and what else I might need!

It’s a fun project to think about that’s for sure, and best of all its keeping me happy and content whilst I live in chaos and dust.

2 Responses to “Baby Nursery”

  1. Cesar Stansel February 10, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    I simply want to mention I’m newbie to blogs and truly enjoyed your blog site. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You really have remarkable stories. Thanks a bunch for sharing your website.

  2. Ra On December 24, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    Jun twenty five, 2009· newborn nursery is his first safe place so it will be essential for you to beautify that in a fashion that would be best to your baby. Very first time mom and dad can easily …baby nursery

Leave a Reply

