Back in the New York Groove….

29 Aug

As I wandered the streets of New York City I found myself singing  this song (in my head  of course – I’m not THAT much of a freak..ummmm) …

I was soo happy to be back in New York City and for what better reason than ALT Summit??!!! It was my first time in NYC for 6 years and I really enjoyed soaking up the city sights and smells..the warm balmy nights, eating at many fab places (2 cupcake stops in 24 hours!!), I did a quick dash into my shopping mecca TopShop and spent an incredible day at Martha Stewart HQ and even saw the lady herself!!

Yes – Martha came and said hi, I think I heard the girl next to me squeal as she walked in!! We had great talks from the ever inspiring Swiss Miss, Amazing food cooked by the team at Martha Stewart Living, great ideas on how to use social media from brands like West Elm and  ideas on growing your community from the talented (and fellow renovator!!) Jenny Komenda of Little Green Notebook and the ever stylish Nat the Fat Rat. They were uber gracious when their panel was crashed by Martha  – I mean how do you recover from that??!!!

Here’s some quick pics of our day at Alt.

The views from the room were amazing

Alt Summit 2012_NYC

Me crafting with Paul from Sweet Paul Magazine during our Blurb sponsored breakfast session!

Alt Summit 2012_NYC

The amazing and very funny Swiss Miss – if you’ve never heard her speak then try to see her asap!!

Alt Summit 2012_NYC

Martha – aka the panel crasher!!

Alt Summit 2012_NYC

Enjoying the end of day rooftop party with Martha’s peeps (Yes that’s Kevin Sharkey the home design guru!!!)

Alt Summit 2012 NYC

All in all it was a great day – I had sore feet and a whirring and inspired head by the time I left with a stack of business cards in hand and lots of new friends!

images by Justin Hackworth

Leave a Reply

